Payment of Property Taxes from the U.K.

Banking, insurance, currency exchange, taxation, prices.

Moderator: Moderators

Smiley G
Rank 5
Rank 5

Payment of Property Taxes from the U.K.

Post by Smiley G »

Friends (resident in UK) have just received their Avis for Taxe Fonciere. They have a RIB from which they have set up a template for periodic SEPA transfers to their Tresorerie.
Their question is (which I don't know the answer to) do they replicate the spaces that appear for the avis reference or do they ignore the spaces?
A typical reference is displayed as;
17 66 ******* ** Do they quote 1766********* ?
Hope someone can help.
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.
martyn94
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by martyn94 »

I've no experience of the precise case. But in any other case I've come across (e.g. turning a RIB into an IBAN, or simply paying online by credit card), you close up the spaces. The details on the "TIP" on their bill may show the preferred format.

But why don't they just get it taken from their French bank account (surely they have one?)? It's worked for me for 25-odd years.
Smiley G
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by Smiley G »

Thanks for the input. I still don't have the answer except someone at the Tresorerie in Argeles once told me that the tax offices manually input payments from data from the Banque de France. The French way, may very will be the long way around, rather than a direct Banque de France/Tresorerie interface.
martyn94
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by martyn94 »

Smiley G wrote:Thanks for the input. I still don't have the answer except someone at the Tresorerie in Argeles once told me that the tax offices manually input payments from data from the Banque de France. The French way, may very will be the long way around, rather than a direct Banque de France/Tresorerie interface.