Filmon - FTV

Problems/advice relating to your PC/Mac/Phone/Television/ Satellite TV/DVD/Blu ray......

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
JRH66300
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu 06 Feb 2014 13:23
Contact:

Filmon - FTV

Post by JRH66300 » Thu 28 Aug 2014 12:10

Anyone else not getting Filmon with XMBC -FTV. Looked for updates and no new releases on XBMC software. Can still get Filmon with Android.

Discombobulous
Rank 0
Rank 0
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2012 23:06
Contact:

Post by Discombobulous » Thu 28 Aug 2014 12:41

Yep, mine stopped last night. Don't know if it's working again yet. Will look after work

User avatar
Maximus
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 09:23

Post by Maximus » Thu 28 Aug 2014 14:14

yep I can confirm the live streaming doesn't work - boo - but I can still play my recordings - so that is weird

Max

User avatar
Sue
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue 02 Dec 2008 15:08
Contact:

Post by Sue » Thu 28 Aug 2014 15:36

Ours is working ok through the android stick.
Dylan

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Thu 28 Aug 2014 15:57

the google app version (Filmon Live) is working fine on an android device.

It is in XBMC and the Addon versions (Filmon, FTV and notFilmon) that are not working.

I am actively seeking info about all this.

Discombobulous
Rank 0
Rank 0
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2012 23:06
Contact:

Post by Discombobulous » Thu 28 Aug 2014 21:16

Still not working on xbmc here but android app is fine. Just out of interest has anyone upgraded to xbmc Gotham and is that working or not?

JRH66300
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu 06 Feb 2014 13:23
Contact:

Post by JRH66300 » Thu 28 Aug 2014 21:40

Re updating to Gotham nothing on the XBMC Forum threads

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?ti ... id=1782722

Discombobulous
Rank 0
Rank 0
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2012 23:06
Contact:

Post by Discombobulous » Thu 28 Aug 2014 22:39

Upgrading to Gotham makes no difference! Guess we'll just have to wait for the developers to do their stuff!

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Fri 29 Aug 2014 06:58

both of the filmon and the notFilmon addons working this morning. I expect FTV to follow.

Smiley G
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue 02 Oct 2012 23:58
Contact:

FilmOn outage?

Post by Smiley G » Sun 07 Sep 2014 22:16

FilmOn went down this evening at about 21:40 whilst OH was watching "Strictly Come Dancing" on BBC1.
Anyone else having problems tonight?
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

tubs
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat 11 Sep 2010 10:02
Contact:

Filmon

Post by tubs » Sun 07 Sep 2014 23:34

I watched Strictly via Filmon on my IPad with no problems tonight. Clarity wasn't brilliant but watchable.

User avatar
russell
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri 21 May 2010 16:03
Contact:

Re: FilmOn outage?

Post by russell » Mon 08 Sep 2014 11:34

Smiley G wrote:FilmOn went down this evening at about 21:40 whilst OH was watching "Strictly Come Dancing" on BBC1.
Anyone else having problems tonight?
No problem here with Strictly. There has been a lot of buffering lately with Dave. I suspect their streaming servers are getting overloaded. Hopefully they'll put some investment into improving them.

In the meantime, if you are having problems and have a subscription, you can record the program and watch it later. There is usually no buffering on recorded programs. Even better, download the recorded program. I have just downloaded a one hour program to watch later. It only took just under 10 min. to download and there is no buffering of course as you play it locally.

Russell.

interiors66
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 11:06

Re: FilmOn outage?

Post by interiors66 » Mon 08 Sep 2014 12:48

There has been a lot of buffering lately with Dave.

Russell.[/quote] :oops: :oops: not me!

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Mon 08 Sep 2014 14:14

no problems with the XBMC FTV, notFilmon or filmon addons this morning.
I cant comment on yesterday evening as i wasn't using the system.

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Mon 08 Sep 2014 21:14

Just set up 2 Boxes this afternoon (ready for installing tomorrow) and all xbmc addons working perfectly in HD and SD.

Smiley G
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue 02 Oct 2012 23:58
Contact:

Post by Smiley G » Tue 09 Sep 2014 08:40

FilmOn was somewhat annoying last night in the 9:30 to 10:30 slot.
Picture freezes, sound out of sync & "Channel Broken" messages.
It seemed to resolve itself and yet there was no deterioration in Orange's broadband download speed.
Equipment;
Apple iPad & FilmOn App. (SD)hard-wired to TV.
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

Post by montgolfiere » Tue 09 Sep 2014 13:30

Have you tried uninstalling the app from your ipad and reinstalling it. I was at a client yesterday who was also having ipad/filmon issues.
Maybe it hasn't settled down since the Filmon Changes of last week.

(i dont have an ipad so cannot investigate this specific problem).

As far as i know the xbmc addons are working without any similar issues.

User avatar
russell
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri 21 May 2010 16:03
Contact:

Post by russell » Tue 09 Sep 2014 14:14

Smiley G wrote:FilmOn was somewhat annoying last night in the 9:30 to 10:30 slot.
Picture freezes, sound out of sync & "Channel Broken" messages.
It seemed to resolve itself and yet there was no deterioration in Orange's broadband download speed.
Equipment;
Apple iPad & FilmOn App. (SD)hard-wired to TV.
If it resolved itself it is unlikely to be a problem at your end. Was it on all channels?

Orange's speed is only one link in the chain. I suspect that the weakest link is Filmon themselves.

If you do think you have a problem and are re-installing the App, make sure you delete any saved data in case that's where the problem lies.

Russell.

montgolfiere
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 22 Sep 2009 16:48
Contact:

4 'HD' UK TV Streams now available via Android XBMC addons.

Post by montgolfiere » Mon 15 Sep 2014 09:16

There has been an improvement to the availability of FTA UK TV via XBMC
addons. Whereas up until now, only the 'FTV' and 'notFilmon' addons were available FTA in 'HD', since the changes to the system 10 days ago, the 'HD' Streams are now available on both of the 'Filmon' addons as well.

Post Reply