Search Engines

Problems/advice relating to your PC/Mac/Phone/Television/ Satellite TV/DVD/Blu ray......

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Marguerite & Steve
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2005 17:34
Contact:

Search Engines

Post by Marguerite & Steve » Wed 30 Jul 2008 19:54

Can anyone please tell me how to download search engines, we have defragmented (think thats what it is called) our laptop and lost them all. :cry:

Sorry meant to have put this post in Technical, but don't know how to move it.
M,

User avatar
polremy
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun 01 Jun 2008 14:40
Contact:

search engines

Post by polremy » Wed 30 Jul 2008 21:01

you sound nearly as lost as i am on computers.
dont understand your problem.
I suppose it cant be as simple as typing in www.google.co.uk (or fr.) into safari or whatever you use - or can it?

User avatar
Marguerite & Steve
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2005 17:34
Contact:

Post by Marguerite & Steve » Wed 30 Jul 2008 21:14

Hi..Yes that is the only way I can get a search engine now, I have a drop down on the corner of my tool bar, which used to have, Google, Ask, Yahoo etc, and search whatever I wanted without having to input the website, but now nothing, I used to use it for a quick search whilst already in another programme, crickey I wish I knew the jargon, like now if I wanted to know something to put and couldn't spell it for eg, I would type the word in and it would automatically go to words relating it....Does anyone know what I am trying to say.... :oops: :oops:

Image

User avatar
blackduff
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat 30 Dec 2006 11:32
Contact:

Post by blackduff » Wed 30 Jul 2008 21:32

M
From what you've written, I really don't think you're needing a search engine.

Give us a bit more about what happened and what's happening now. Give us a little more info and we can give you some direction.

Blackduff

User avatar
polremy
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun 01 Jun 2008 14:40
Contact:

search engines

Post by polremy » Wed 30 Jul 2008 21:33

well, i know nothing but...
i would type in google etc then click on bookmarks and save it as a bookmark.
not sure if that is enough for what you want but it is nice that there is no expert writing in with all the jargon.
ps. love the picture of you banging your head against the keyboard
pps. we have a mac anyway so it is probably all different.
ppps. hope somebody helps you out properly!

User avatar
Marguerite & Steve
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2005 17:34
Contact:

Post by Marguerite & Steve » Wed 30 Jul 2008 22:00

Blackduff, My opening page when I go on the internet is Orange, I have a toolbar at the top for me to enter my websites etc, then further alone in the corner is another box, this is where I put anything in there, looking up people, words, spelling etc it will then go into what ever engine was already programmed in, eg, Google, Ask, Yahoo etc. I don't need to put in the website, it automatically goes to site. If I have google as my default for eg it will search everything I put in on Google, but if I wanted to try Ask, I click the drop down button and then change my choice...this option is not a bookmark, as I have that seperate......Is that any help. If I click now it will say add engines, when I go into there it has choices suggested by other uses and are add ons, so I pressume I download????


Image


Polremy.....that must really be me on my computer. :lol:

User avatar
Helen
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue 20 Dec 2005 20:08
Contact:

Post by Helen » Wed 30 Jul 2008 22:25

hi Marguerite.

What operating system are you using: e.g. IE, Firefox?

is it possible that you've lost a particular toolbar which gave you the dropdown options you describe, or was it always a part of the orange toolbar?

User avatar
Marguerite & Steve
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2005 17:34
Contact:

Post by Marguerite & Steve » Wed 30 Jul 2008 23:03

Hi Helen...hope your well x

Yes it is Mozilla Firefox ???

User avatar
polremy
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun 01 Jun 2008 14:40
Contact:

firefox

Post by polremy » Wed 30 Jul 2008 23:07

Hey, I just got firefox too!!
Apparently it is better than Safari for some websites.
Haven't actually used it yet.

Just showing off really.

User avatar
Sav
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon 18 Sep 2006 17:01
Contact:

Post by Sav » Wed 30 Jul 2008 23:26

This might help M & S :)
http://toolbar.google.com/T4/intl/en-GB/index_pack.html

Also you can find the Yahoo one here
http://www.download.com/3120-20_4.html? ... h&tg=dl-20

Hope that helps ;)

Cheers Sav :)

User avatar
Helen
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue 20 Dec 2005 20:08
Contact:

Post by Helen » Wed 30 Jul 2008 23:47

I'm fine thanks - looking forward to a whole 8 days in Amelie, starting this w'end !!

Back to search engines.....

in the search box which is at the right of the tool bar, do you have a G symbol to the left of it? When I click on the little arrow next to the G, it opens a menu which includes all the options you say you're missing.

But at the bottom it says Manage Search Engines. If you have this, it will take you to a page like this

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ?sort=name

which should allow you to add back in those you've lost (hopefully)

User avatar
Santiago
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue 27 Dec 2005 12:19
Contact:

Post by Santiago » Thu 31 Jul 2008 08:24

What you've lost is the search engine toolbar for your browser (Firefox).

I don't use Firefox but you can add the Google toolbar using the link Sav provided.

User avatar
Marguerite & Steve
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2005 17:34
Contact:

Post by Marguerite & Steve » Thu 31 Jul 2008 13:46

Thanks everyone.....

Sav, (where have you been) I tried to download and it did try and do it but told me my version is 1.5 and need 3.1, and only the other day did I get a pop up saying update Firefox "now" or "later" and I chose later as I was busy, so I shall wait for it to appear again then update and try again. I forgot all about that.

Helen, in the corner there is only a magnify glass symbol. So now I am impatiently waiting for the update to apear, is there a way I can retrieve it myself?


Just noticed this post has been moved to Technical, and realised there is a Computer section :roll:

User avatar
Sav
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon 18 Sep 2006 17:01
Contact:

Post by Sav » Thu 31 Jul 2008 14:48

Hi M & S :)

Yes i'm about ;)

I don't use Firefox, but you should be able to update it here.
http://www.netsquirrel.com/articles/update_firefox.html
It will also install your google tool bar, not sure why you could not do it on the other link ?
Perhaps remove the old one from Add Remove Programmes.

The cakes are about as well www.totally-scrumptious.co.uk ;)
If i could remember how to do it, you would have got a picture :roll:
Nice wine Jonathan, we are going to be down in Argeles at the end of August, we have some friends
staying with us for a while & we would like to pop over to see you, Rachel & the vineyard if possible.
Thanks for your hospitality last year :D

Cheers Sav :D

User avatar
Marguerite & Steve
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2005 17:34
Contact:

Post by Marguerite & Steve » Thu 31 Jul 2008 15:10

YIPEEEEE

It worked...thanks everyone, Sav that did the trick, this version is certainly better.

Image


You see this is what a forum is all about...helping friends xx

User avatar
Sav
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon 18 Sep 2006 17:01
Contact:

Post by Sav » Thu 31 Jul 2008 15:16

Glad i could help :lol:

Cheers Sav :D

Brendane

Post by Brendane » Fri 09 Dec 2011 14:19

Hello there are various search engines on internet and the best search engine is Google i think you should try it once

User avatar
polremy
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun 01 Jun 2008 14:40
Contact:

Post by polremy » Fri 09 Dec 2011 16:08

Thank you so much for that helpful advice.
It was worth the three and a half years' wait.

User avatar
Kate
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1855
Joined: Fri 23 Sep 2005 19:48
Contact:

Post by Kate » Wed 14 Dec 2011 17:03

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Post Reply