Anybody into horse riding...

Gardening/Walking/Nature trails & wildlife. Share your experiences here...

Moderator: Moderators

Sus
Rank 5
Rank 5

Anybody into horse riding...

Post by Sus »

I spent some time looking at horse riding last year, mainly in the Vallespir valley, and wanted to share a couple of experiences and recommendations:

Riding lessons
I joint the Centre Equestre in Amélie-les-Bains to take some lessons.There are 2 instructors, Nicolas and Pierre, both very knowledgable in the usual disciplines as well as "d'équitation ethologique". They give lessons from complete beginners to competition level and also start young horses. I had been riding on and off but had never the time to take proper lessons and I am also interested in working with young horses.
I learnt a lot and ended up taking some of the Galops exams which was great for improving my riding. In addition, you will learn a whole new set of words ("jarret or apophyse zygomatique" - anyone?!) The club has also a lot of social activities. You need to speak French though as there is no other language spoken.

Riding outdoors
I also tried out several organisations that offer riding outside as that is really what I am interested in. I can recommend Chevaux du Buac in St Laurent de Cerdans. The owner, Josse has a large herd of horses for any rider and knows the forest/mountains around St Laurent like the back of his hand. A half or a whole day ride is a real treat! Best to be comfortable trotting and/or canter to get the best out of this.

Chevaux de la Tramontane in La Llagonne